Tree Potential Project

Tree Potential Project

Earth Day 2019

Return to Projects
Return to Projects

Tree Potential Project

Data reveals the fascination of the forest and shows us how we can preserve it.

International Earth Day is used annually to raise awareness and appreciation for nature’s diversity and beauty. With the Tree Potential Project, Microsoft wants to contribute to this by making data collected from forests in the United States available to the public.
Together with Tea & Water Ltd. and SilviaTerra LLC, we have created an online tool to innovatively visualize and explore tree populations:

https://www.microsoft.com/tree-potential/

Every forest has a story. It is often as amazing as it is individual and can be defined by different tree species, creatures, raw materials or climatic conditions. The Tree Potential Project aims to tell these stories and shows us how we as a society can contribute to the preservation of the forest and its special characteristics.
Select one of the 20 available National Parks on an interactive map and get detailed information about the local tree species, their percentage distribution and average growth height as well as trunk circumference. In addition, each forest contains a “story layer” that visualizes the area’s specific characteristics, such as a high carbon content or the habitat of a rare bat species. Together, this information results in a modern data display that enables exciting navigation through the layers of the forest.
In the end of each forest page the user also has the opportunity, with the support of Microsoft, to donate to the non-profit nature preservation organisation The Nature Conservancy. This is to ensure that the stories of the forests are not only told, but can also survive.

The visualization is based on satellite data, collected and evaluated by SilviaTerra LLC using Microsoft AI, which is used to manage forestry operations and conserve forest resources. We process this data to create a multi-layered sculpture that combines the fascination of Big Data with generative design. In addition to appealing visuals, we paid particular attention to an efficient and performant presentation in the web and a responsive design to ensure easy access for as many users as possible.

Tree Potential on Times Square New York, video courtesy of Tea & Water Ltd.

Behind the scenes / Process

Tools Unity3D

PeriodDecember 2018 - April 2019

ClientTea & Water Ltd.

TeamChristian Freitag, Felix Herbst, Paul Kirsten, Timo Pointke, Thi Binh Minh Nguyen, Stephan Kloß

CooperationMicrosoft, SilviaTerra LLC

LinksTree Potential Project Microsoft InCulture

Tree Potential Project

Tree Potential Project

Earth Day 2019

Zurück zu den Projekten
Zurück zu den Projekten

Tree Potential Project

Daten enthüllen die Faszination des Waldes und zeigen uns, wie wir sie bewahren können

Der internationale Earth Day wird jährlich dazu genutzt, um das allgemeine Bewusstsein und die Wertschätzung gegenüber der Natur, ihrer Vielseitigkeit und Schönheit, zu erhöhen. Mit dem Tree Potential Project will Microsoft einen Beitrag dazu leisten, indem gesammelte Daten von Wäldern in den Vereinigten Staaten für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden.
Zusammen mit Tea & Water Ltd. und SilviaTerra LLC haben wir ein Online Tool erschaffen, mit dem Baumbestände innovativ visualisiert und explorativ erfahrbar gemacht werden:

https://www.microsoft.com/tree-potential/

Jeder Wald hat eine Geschichte. Diese ist oft so erstaunlich wie individuell und kann geprägt sein von unterschiedlichen Baumarten, Lebewesen, Rohstoffen oder klimatischen Bedingungen. Das Tree Potential Project soll diese Geschichten erzählen und uns zeigen, wie wir als Gesellschaft dazu beitragen können, den Wald und seine Besonderheiten zu erhalten.
Dazu wählt man einen der 20 verfügbaren National Parks auf einer interaktiven Karte aus und erhält dann detaillierte Informationen über die ansässigen Baumarten, ihre prozentuale Verteilung und durchschnittliche Wuchshöhe sowie Stammumfang. Zusätzlich enthält jeder Wald einen sog. “Story Layer”, der die besonderen Merkmale des Gebiets visualisiert, bspw. ein hoher Carbon-Gehalt oder das Habitat einer seltenen Fledermausgattung. Zusammen ergeben diese Informationen ein modernes Datenbild, das ein spannendes Navigieren durch die Schichten des Waldes ermöglicht.
Am Ende gibt es zu jedem der vorgestellten Wälder außerdem die Möglichkeit, mit der Unterstützung von Microsoft für die gemeinnützige Naturschutzorganisation The Nature Conservancy zu spenden. So soll dafür gesorgt werden, dass die Geschichten der Wälder nicht nur erzählt werden, sondern auch überdauern können.

Grundlage der Visualisierung sind die mittels Microsoft AI gesammelten und ausgewerteten Satellitendaten von SilviaTerra LLC, die dem Management von Forstbetrieben und dem Erhalt von Waldbeständen dienen. Wir verarbeiten diese Daten und erschaffen daraus eine mehrschichtige Skulptur, welche die Faszination von Big Data mit generativem Design verbindet. Besonderes Augenmerk lag neben einer ansprechenden Gestaltung auch auf der möglichst Ressourcen-sparenden Darstellung im Web und einem responsiven Design, um einen einfachen Zugang für möglichst viele Nutzer zu gewährleisten.

Tree Potential on Times Square New York, video courtesy of Tea & Water Ltd.

Behind the scenes / Process

Tools Microsoft AI, Unity3D

ZeitraumDezember 2018 - April 2019

KundeTea & Water Ltd.

TeamChristian Freitag, Felix Herbst, Paul Kirsten, Timo Pointke, Thi Binh Minh Nguyen, Stephan Kloß

KooperationMicrosoft, SilviaTerra LLC

LinksTree Potential Project Microsoft InCulture