DigiLab VR

DigiLab VR

Material Compounding in VR

Return to Projects
Return to Projects

DigiLab VR

Tailor-made thermoplastic materials in VR

In the future, thanks to the DigiLab app, material developers will not only be able to identify compounds for a material with very specific properties in a matter of minutes, but will also be able to literally immerse themselves in the complex data with the help of virtual reality.

Three development partners from Saxony-Anhalt are currently researching how this can work, what advantages 3D technology offers users and manufacturers alike, and how materials can be optimized even better with it. In addition to prefrontal cortex, the compounding experts at Merseburg-based Exipnos GmbH and the renowned Fraunhofer Institute for Microstructure of Materials and Systems (IMWS) in Halle (Saale) are also on board as development partners.

“The requirements for polymers are becoming increasingly complex,” explains Dr. Patrick Hirsch from the Fraunhofer IMWS. For example, users can already choose from more than 20 parameters in the POLYKUM DigiLabĀ® app, from elasticity to density to tensile strength. Even bio-based or recycled materials can be specifically selected. True, usually only three to five are crucial for a particular application. “But even the resulting complexity of the data can hardly be represented on the screen,” he says. “With the help of VR technology, we want to make it much easier to select the right material.” Users will be able to immerse themselves in spatial diagrams, the VR color lab and perhaps even molecular structures in the future, according to the project partners’ vision.

The research and development project is funded by the state of Saxony-Anhalt and the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). Realization is scheduled to be completed in April 2022.

PeriodApril 2020 - ongoing

TeamChristian Freitag, Timo Pointke, Elitza Todorova

CooperationFraunhofer IMWS, Exipnos GmbH, AppsolutEinfach UG

DigiLab VR

DigiLab VR

Material Compounding in VR

Zurück zu den Projekten
Zurück zu den Projekten

DigiLab VR

Maßgeschneiderte Thermoplast-Werkstoffe in VR

In Zukunft sollen Materialentwickler Dank der DigiLab-App nicht nur Rezepturen für einen Werkstoff mit ganz bestimmten Eigenschaften in Minutenschnelle identifizieren, sondern auch regelrecht in die komplexen Daten mit Hilfe von Virtual Reality eintauchen können.

Wie das funktionieren kann, welche Vorteile die 3D-Technik Anwendern wie Herstellern bietet und wie sich Materialien damit noch besser optimieren lassen, das erforschen momentan drei Entwicklungspartner aus Sachsen-Anhalt. Neben prefrontal cortex sind auch die Compoundier-Experten der Merseburger Exipnos GmbH und das renommierte Fraunhofer-Institut für Mikrostuktur von Werkstoffen und Systemen (IMWS) in Halle (Saale) als Entwicklungspartner mit im Boot.

„Die Anforderungen an Kunststoffe werden immer komplexer“, erläutert Dr. Patrick Hirsch vom Fraunhofer IMWS. So können Anwender in der POLYKUM DigiLab® -App schon heute aus mehr als 20 Parametern wählen, von der Elastizität über die Dichte bis zur Zugfestigkeit. Sogar biobasierte oder recycelte Materialien lassen sich gezielt selektieren. Zwar sind meist nur drei bis fünf für eine bestimmte Anwendung entscheidend. „Doch selbst die daraus entstehende Komplexität der Daten lässt sich am Bildschirm kaum mehr darstellen“, so der Wissenschaftler. „Mit Hilfe der VR-Technologie möchten wir die Auswahl des richtigen Materials wesentlich erleichtern.“ Anwender sollen nach der Vision der Projektpartner künftig in räumliche Diagramme, das VR-Farblabor und vielleicht sogar Molekülstrukturen eintauchen können.

Das Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt wird vom Land Sachsen-Anhalt und dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) gefördert. Die Umsetzung soll im April 2022 abgeschlossen werden.

Zeitraumseit April 2020

TeamChristian Freitag, Timo Pointke, Elitza Todorova

KooperationFraunhofer IMWS, Exipnos GmbH, AppsolutEinfach UG