Bybassos AR

Bybassos AR

a tool for archeologists

Return to Projects
Return to Projects

Bybassos AR

Tools AR, GIS, Meta 2 Headset, Photogrammetry, Unity3D

Period2016 - 2017

CooperationMeta

 

An area of about 30 km² around the ancient greek city of Bybassos (present day Turkey) can be viewed and navigated in this AR application. The terrain data of seven cities, wall and building fragments as well as 3D scans of important structures are stored alongside their period of origin. The sites of potteries, vineyards and temples are also available.

Using intuitive hand gestures, the user can navigate through the terrain as well as access measurements of the different sites. In addition the user can filter the sites according to their point of origin. The use of Augmented Reality allows simultaneous viewing of physical data sources such as maps and sketches as well as natural collaboration with other archaeologists.

“Bybassos” was originally developed in 2011 in cooperation with the Archaeological Institute of the University of Marburg as a classic desktop application.
In collaboration with the Silicon Valley startup Meta, we adapted it to their AR headset in 2016, which allows for a roomscale AR experience as well as natural gesture control. The application gives an insight into the possibilities of Augmented Reality.

Bybassos AR

Bybassos AR

Werkzeug für Archäologen

Zurück zu den Projekten
Zurück zu den Projekten

Bybassos AR

Tools AR, GIS, Meta 2 Headset, Photogrammetrie, Unity3D

Zeitraum2016 - 2017

CooperationMeta

 

Ein Untersuchungsgebiet von etwa 30 km² um die altgriechische Stadt Bybassos (heutige Türkei) herum kann in der AR-Anwendung betrachtet und navigiert werden. Die Geländedaten von sieben Städten, Mauer- und Gebäudefragmente sowie 3D-Scans von wichtigen Strukturen sind mit ihrer Entstehungsepoche hinterlegt. Auch die Fundstätten von Töpfereien, Weinbergen und Tempeln sind verfügbar.

Die Bedienung erfolgt über intuitive Hand-Gesten, mit denen auch das direkte Messen von Höhen und Abständen möglich ist. Zusätzlich kann auch nach der Entstehungs-Epoche gefiltert werden. Mit der Nutzung von Augmented Reality wird das gleichzeitige Betrachten physischer Datenquellen wie Landkarten und Skizzen sowie die natürliche Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Archäologen möglich.

Ursprünglich entstand „Bybassos“ 2011 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem archäologischen Institut der Universität Marburg als klassische Desktop-Anwendung.
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Silicon-Valley-Startup Meta passten wir sie 2016 auf ihr AR-Headset an, was die raumgreifende AR-Darstellung zusammen mit der natürlichen Gestensteuerung ermöglicht und einen Einblick in die Möglichkeiten von AR gibt.