Biolum

Biolum

Narrative deep sea adventure

Return to Projects
Return to Projects

Biolum

A narrative virtual reality experience inspired by the dark beauty of the deep sea

This international production from studios IKO, Reynard Films and prefrontal cortex, featuring the voices of Charlotte Rampling (Dune) and Dominique Tipper (The Expanse), is an interactive Science-Fiction that immerses us in a mysterious underwater world – on a dive that takes a shocking turn.

Biolum puts us in the role of Rachael, an experienced diver who explores the abysses of the sea and is accompanied by the expedition leader Eva, a renowned marine scientist and mentor. Rachael discovers that luminescent parasites are infesting marine life. She becomes infected herself and faces a hypnotic battle for her sanity when she discovers that Eva has deliberately sent her into the abyss. Inspired by the beauty of the deep sea, Biolum blurs the lines between biological truth and Science-Fiction, tackling existential themes and the cosmic wonder of the great unknown.

As German co-producer, prefrontal cortex was mainly responsible for the development of the VR application in Unity3D and as integration hub for the broad international team. With many years of experience in the implementation of real-time applications, we set up the pipeline for data creation, integration and collaboration. Many internal tools were developed during the production, such as a complete dialogue system that generates the text from the screenplay as an audio track in Unity3D, enabling early iterations of spoken text and gameplay.
The locomotion system and interactions in VR were developed in many prototypes and evaluated together as a team to make the cinematic narrative and gameplay elements as accessible as possible to a broad user base.
A complex lighting system was designed to represent the name-giving bioluminescence using procedural shaders and optimized real-time lights.
There are many more fields of work to mention: the design of modular environments, procedural animations for plants and creatures, physical simulations, VFX and particle systems, lightmapping, etc. – all of them together characterize the great strength of prefrontal cortex to be able to cover all areas in the development of interactive media in an interdisciplinary way.

Biolum is expected to be released on Steam in October 2021.

Funding by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)
As an international co-production, an immersive, cinematic VR experience was created in collaboration with IKO (FR), Reynard Films (DE), Abel Kohen (FR), Jon Rowe (UK) and Albyon (FR). Compared to the Bioluminescence – Prototype, Biolum was thereby primarily expanded by new stories, content and interaction elements and is to be released after completion for all current high-end VR systems, but also as a mobile version. The 2018 prototype co-produced by prefrontal cortex can also be found on our website at:
https://prefrontalcortex.de/en/projects/bioluminescence/
The development of Biolum is funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) as part of the Digital Creativity funding program of the state of Saxony-Anhalt from August 5, 2019 to March 31, 2021.

PeriodSeptember 2019 - 2021

TeamPaul Kirsten, Felix Herbst, André Wünscher, Tim Schuster, Marvin Podsendek, Elitza Todorova

CooperationAbel Kohen, Jon Rowe

LinksIKO Reynard Films Albyon

Biolum

Biolum

Narratives Tiefsee-Abenteuer

Zurück zu den Projekten
Zurück zu den Projekten

Biolum

Eine narrative Virtual Reality Experience, inspiriert von der düsteren Schönheit der Tiefsee

Die internationale Produktion der Studios IKO, Reynard Films und prefrontal cortex mit den Stimmen von Charlotte Rampling (Dune) und Dominique Tipper (The Expanse) ist eine interaktive Science-Fiction in VR, die uns in eine geheimnisvolle Unterwasserwelt eintauchen lässt – bei einem Tauchgang, der eine schockierende Wendung nimmt.

Biolum versetzt uns in die Rolle von Rachael, einer erfahrenen Taucherin, die die Abgründe des Meeres erforscht und von der Expeditionsleiterin Eva, einer renommierten Meeresforscherin und Mentorin, begleitet wird. Rachael entdeckt, dass lumineszierende Parasiten die Meeresflora und -fauna befallen. Sie wird selbst infiziert und sieht sich einem hypnotischen Kampf um ihren Verstand gegenüber, als sie entdeckt, dass Eva sie vorsätzlich in den Schlund der Gefahr geschickt hat. Inspiriert von der Schönheit der Tiefsee, verwischt Biolum die Grenzen zwischen biologischer Wahrheit und Science-Fiction und greift existenzielle Themen und das kosmische Wunder des großen Unbekannten auf.

Als deutscher Ko-Produzent war prefrontal cortex vor allem für die Entwicklung der VR-Anwendung in Unity3D zuständig und Schnittstelle für das breit aufgestellte internationale Team. Mit unserer langjährigen Erfahrung in der Umsetzung von Echtzeit-Anwendungen haben wir hierfür die Pipeline für Datenerstellung, Integration und Zusammenarbeit aufgestellt. Viele interne Tools wurden im Laufe der Produktion entwickelt, wie bspw. ein komplettes Dialogsystem, welches den Text aus dem Screenplay als Audiospur in Unity3D generiert und somit frühzeitige Iterationen von gesprochenem Text und Gameplay ermöglicht.
Das Fortbewegungssystem und die Interaktionen in VR wurden in vielen Prototypen entwickelt und gemeinsam im Team bewertet, um die filmische Erzählung und die Gameplay-Elemente bestmöglich für eine breite Nutzerbasis zugänglich zu machen.
Für die Darstellung der namensgebenden Biolumineszenz wurde mittels prozeduraler Shader und optimierter Echtzeit-Lichter ein komplexes Beleuchtungssystem entworfen.
Es sind noch viele weitere Arbeitsfelder zu nennen: die Gestaltung von modularen Environments, prozedurale Animationen für Pflanzen und Kreaturen, physikalische Simulationen, VFX und Partikelsysteme, Lightmapping usw. – in der Summe kennzeichnen sie die große Stärke von prefrontal cortex, interdisziplinär alle Bereiche in der Entwicklung von interaktiven Medien abbilden zu können.

Biolum wird vorraussichtlich im Oktober 2021 auf Steam erscheinen.

Förderung durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE)
Als internationale Koproduktion wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit IKO (FR), Reynard Films (DE), Abel Kohen (FR), Jon Rowe (UK) und Albyon (FR) ein immersives, filmisches VR-Erlebnis geschaffen. Biolum wurde dabei im Vergleich zum Bioluminescence – Prototyp vor allem um neue Geschichten, Inhalte und Interaktionselemente erweitert und soll nach Fertigstellung für alle gängigen High-End-VR-Systeme, aber auch als mobile Version erscheinen. Den 2018 von prefrontal cortex mitproduzierten Protoyp finden Sie auch auf unserer Website unter:
https://prefrontalcortex.de/projects/bioluminescence/
Gefördert wird die Entwicklung von Biolum durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) im Rahmen des Digital Creativity Förderprogramms des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt vom 05. August 2019 bis 05. März 2021.

ZeitraumSeptember 2019 - 2021

TeamPaul Kirsten, Felix Herbst, André Wünscher, Tim Schuster, Marvin Podsendek, Elitza Todorova

KooperationAbel Kohen, Jon Rowe

LinksIKO Reynard Films Albyon