Bioluminescence

Bioluminescence

VR Deep Sea Expedition

Return to Projects
Return to Projects

Bioluminescence

The first contact with extraterrestrial life takes place at the bottom of the sea.

Inspired by the endless beauty of the deep sea, the VR adventure blurs the boundaries between biological facts and science fiction. An unknown predator conquers our seas and threatens human life and the planet’s ecosystem.

The story of Bioluminescence was written by Abel Kohen and Jon Rowe. The deep-sea universe is set in our time, when the world is shaken by man-made climate change and our oceans are under the invasion of an alien parasite. The spread of infection is the first step in a larger extraterrestrial life-form plan to combat the threat of humanity to the life on Earth.

In 2018, we developed a VR application that was originally intended to accompany a planned web series on Bioluminescence in an interactive form. The player takes control of a deep-sea submarine and explores a living underwater world whose depths are illuminated by bioluminescent creatures.
During this development it quickly became clear to all people involved that the universe of bioluminescence still has room for much more than just a VR episode and the idea for an independent VR experience was born.

Funding provided by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)
As an international co-production in collaboration with Reynard Films (DE), Abel Kohen (FR), Jon Rowe (UK), IKO (FR) and Fauns (FR), we want to create an immersive, cinematic VR experience. Compared to the first VR episode, “Bioluminescence – First Contact” will be expanded with new stories, content and interaction elements and will be released for all current high-end VR systems, but also as a mobile version.
The development of “Bioluminescence – First Contact” is supported by the European Fund for Regional Development (ERDF) within the context of the Digital Creativity funding programme of the state of Saxony-Anhalt. The development is expected to be completed in September 2020.

Tools 3ds Max, HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, Substance Painter, Unity3D

PeriodOct. 2017 - May 2018

TeamFelix Herbst, Paul Kirsten, Marvin Podsendek

CooperationReynard Films, Abel Kohen, Jon Rowe, IKO, Fauns

Bioluminescence

Bioluminescence

VR Tiefsee Expedition

Zurück zu den Projekten
Zurück zu den Projekten

Bioluminescence

Der erste Kontakt mit außerirdischem Leben findet auf dem Grund des Meeres statt

Inspiriert von der unendlichen Schönheit der Tiefsee verwischt das VR Abenteuer die Grenzen zwischen biologischen Fakten und Science-Fiction. Denn ein unbekanntes Raubtier erobert unsere Meere und bedroht das menschliche Leben und das Ökosystem des Planeten.

Die Story von Bioluminescence entspringt der Feder von Abel Kohen und Jon Rowe. Das Tiefsee-Universum ist in der heutigen Zeit angesiedelt, in der die Welt durch den vom Menschen verursachten Klimawandel ins Wanken gerät und unsere Ozeane unter der Invasion eines außerirdischen Parasiten stehen. Die Ausbreitung der Infektion ist der erste Schritt eines größeren Plans der außerirdischen Lebensform, gegen die Bedrohung des Lebens auf der Erde durch die Menschheit anzukämpfen.

2018 entstand eine VR Anwendung, die ursprünglich in interaktiver Form eine geplante Webserie zu Bioluminescence begleiten sollte. Der Spieler übernimmt darin die Kontrolle über ein Tiefsee U-Boot und erkundet eine lebendige Unterwasserwelt, deren Tiefen von biolumineszenten Lebewesen erleuchtet werden. 
Während dieser Entwicklung wurde allen Beteiligten schnell klar, dass das Universum der Bioluminescence noch Raum für weit mehr birgt als nur eine VR Episode und die Idee für ein eigenständiges VR-Erlebnis war geboren.

Förderung durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE)
Als internationale Koproduktion soll in Zusammenarbeit mit Reynard Films (DE), Abel Kohen (FR), Jon Rowe (UK), IKO (FR) und Fauns (FR) ein immersives, filmisches VR-Erlebnis geschaffen werden. “Bioluminescence – Erster Kontakt” wird dabei im Vergleich zur ersten VR Episode vor allem um neue Geschichten, Inhalte und Interaktionselemente erweitert und soll nach Fertigstellung für alle gängigen High End VR Systeme, aber auch als mobile Version erscheinen.
Gefördert wird die Entwicklung von “Bioluminescence – Erster Kontakt” durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) im Rahmen des Digital Creativity Förderprogramms des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt. Die Umsetzung soll im September 2020 abgeschlossen werden.

Tools 3ds Max, HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, Substance Painter, Unity3D

ZeitraumOkt. 2017 - Mai 2018

TeamFelix Herbst, Paul Kirsten, Marvin Podsendek

KooperationReynard Films, Abel Kohen, Jon Rowe, IKO, Fauns