Swing VR

Swing VR

Immersive VR adventure

Return to Projects
Return to Projects

Swing VR

Tools 3ds Max, Blender, Cinema 4D, Unity3D

Period2014 - 2017

Fly away into a beautiful aerial landscape and dare to dream

A project by Thi Binh Minh Nguyen and Christin Marczinzik.

“Swing” is a playful VR installation using HTC Vive and Kinect. The swing itself is the central input element. This innovative combination of analog and digital elements provides a particularly immersive experience for the player. In addition, the installation is extraordinary, spectacular and yet accessible, which makes Swing popular for user groups of all ages and has already found its way into several exhibitions and festivals around the world.

 

Ever since we were kids, swings always fascinated us. Today, when we see a swing, we like to remember the fun we used to have while playing as kids. While swinging, we feel isolated from the outside world, weightless and free. This feeling is what SWING VR is helping to re-experience, and it also fulfills a dream that was previously only possible in imagination: the dream of flying like a bird.

A real swing is staged as a physical input element in an interactive installation. The additional use of a VR headset extends the experience by virtual reality and creates a unique immersive adventure. The user soon leaves all earthly burdens and his everyday life behind, finds inner peace on his way up to the sky and sees the world in new colors. How high you reach into the virtual sky depends on the duration and intensity of your swings in the physical world.

Paper as a material creates a naive look for the virtual environment and is the main design element used. Therefore, shapes with hard edges and origami folds dominate in a mixture of 2D and 3D objects. These come to life using a carefree, analog watercolor texture technique with vibrant areas of color, gradients, and patterns.

The influence of playing on a swingset for the human mind has stayed a mystery up to now and has been investigated in medical institutions for quite some time. It’s certain that the rhythmic rocking movement has a positive effect on the psyche and well-being. We want to use and intensify this sensual effect to help the swinging person dream and expand his consciousness.

Swing VR

Swing VR

Immersives VR-Szenario

Zurück zu den Projekten
Zurück zu den Projekten

Swing VR

Tools Autodesk 3ds Max, Blender, Cinema 4D, Unity3D

Zeitraum2014 - 2017

Ein Projekt von Thi Binh Minh Nguyen und Christin Marczinzik.

„Swing“ ist eine spielerische VR-Installation mit HTC Vive und Kinect. Dabei wird die Schaukel als zentrales Eingabeelement verwendet. Durch diese neuartige Kombination ermöglicht sie dem Spieler eine besonders immersive Erfahrung. Zusätzlich ist die Installation dadurch außergewöhnlich, spektakulär und trotzdem zugänglich, was Swing bei Nutzergruppen aller Altersklassen beliebt macht und schon den Weg in mehrere Ausstellungen und Festivals rund um die Welt gefunden hat.

 

Die Schaukel übt auf uns seit jeher eine besondere Faszination aus. Als Kinder tobten wir auf ihr herum. Heute erinnern wir uns bei ihrem Anblick gerne an das Vergnügen, das wir damals beim Schaukeln empfanden. Wir fühlten uns der Welt entrückt, schwerelos und frei. Dieses Gefühl bringt SWING den Menschen zurück und erfüllt einen Traum, der bisher nur in der Vorstellungskraft möglich war: den Traum vom Fliegen.

Dafür wird die Schaukel als physisches Eingabeelement in einer interaktiven Installation inszeniert. Der zusätzliche Einsatz einer VR-Brille erweitert die Erfahrung durch virtuelle Realität und schafft ein einzigartiges immersives Abenteuer. Der Schaukelnde soll die irdische Last und den tristen Alltag hinter sich lassen, zu innerer Ruhe finden und die Welt in neuer Farbe sehen. Er gleitet in der virtuellen Welt fließend höher. Welche Flughöhe er erlangt, ist abhängig von der Dauer und der Intensität des Schaukelns in der physischen Welt.

Das Material Papier schafft eine naive Umgebung in der virtuellen Welt und steht als Hauptgestaltungmittel sinnbildlich für das Arbeitsleben. Daher dominieren Formen mit harten Kanten und Origamifaltungen in einer Mischung aus 2D- und 3D-Objekten. Diese werden durch unbefangene, analoge Aquarelltechnik mit bunten Farbflächen, Verläufen und Mustern lebendig.

Der Einfluss des Schaukelns auf den Menschen ist bisher ein Mysterium und wird seit längerem in medizinischen Einrichtungen untersucht. Fest steht, die rhythmische Schaukelbewegung wirkt sich positiv auf die Psyche und das Wohlbefinden aus. Diesen sinnlichen Effekt wollen wir nutzen und verstärken, um den Schwingenden ins Träumen zu versetzen und sein Bewusstsein zu erweitern.