Kelp Forest

Kelp Forest

An underwater spectacle

Return to Projects
Return to Projects

Kelp Forest

Tools HTC Vive, Intel RealSense, NewTek NDI, Unity 3D, Unity3D

PeriodJune 2017 - December 2017

ClientIntel

CooperationDell GmbH Halle, Interhacktive

An interactive underwater spectacle immerses the senses into a digital adventure.

The fish are dancing in Silicon Valley: Majestic reef sharks, agile Garibaldis and shiny silver sardine swarms populate the lobby of the Intel headquarters. They gently glide through a light-flooded algae forest with atmospheric sounds, coming into close contact with their curious audience. Using Intel® RealSense™ technology, “Kelp Forest” expands the sensual experience with the interactive discovery of a digital marine world.

Since 2017, Intel Corporation welcomes employees and visitors to its Santa Clara headquarters with a new screen system consisting of a Brand Story Wall at the entrance and a Digital Skylight that extends like a dome over the adjoining lounge area. In cooperation with Intel’s art direction department, we designed “Kelp Forest” for both components as an epitome of the underwater world of the Southern California bays. The generative lighting mood adapts to the natural course of the day. Oceanic sound waves intensify the sensual impression of the seascape.

The highlight is the interactive LED wall with six integrated Intel® RealSense™ cameras. They generate depth data for targeted control of the fish. Whenever there’s movement in the room, the autopilot is replaced by an interaction algorithm. Visitors waiting in front of the screen let the sardines swarm in, while hectic gestures will drive them away in an instant. Under the skylight dome, the interplay between the real and digital world is complemented by the impression of a deep connection with the audiovisual scenery.

The reconstruction of the lobby, including the implementation of the screen system, continued throughout the entire development period of the project. In order to provide our customer with a detailed preview of the current status, we developed a VR simulation of our designs inserted into the planned room architecture. As the first interactive application for the system, the “Kelp Forest” is still an integral part of the new Intel lobby’s daily program.

Thanks to Dell’s great support in Halle, we were able to test and develop the real-time application on our premises using a high-performance PC system.

Kelp Forest 360° on YouTube: Brand Story Wall Viewpoint
Kelp Forest 360° on YouTube: Digital Skylight Viewpoint

Kelp Forest

Kelp Forest

Interaktive Raumbespielung

Zurück zu den Projekten
Zurück zu den Projekten

Kelp Forest

Tools HTC Vive, Intel RealSense, NewTek NDI, Unity3D

ZeitraumJuni 2017 - Dezember 2017

KundeIntel

CooperationDell GmbH Halle, Interhacktive

Ein interaktives Unterwasser-Spektakel taucht die Sinne in ein digitales Abenteuer.

Im Silicon Valley lassen wir die Fische tanzen: Majestätische Riffhaie, flinke Garibaldis und silbern glänzende Sardinenschwärme bevölkern die Lobby des Intel-Headquarters. In sphärischer Klangkulisse gleiten sie sanft durch einen lichtdurchfluteten Algenwald – und gehen auf Tuchfühlung mit ihrem neugierigen Publikum. Unter dem Einsatz der Intel® RealSense™ Technologie erweitert „Kelp Forest“ die sinnliche Erfahrung um das interaktive Erlebnis einer digitalen Meereswelt.

Die Intel Corporation empfängt Mitarbeiter und Besucher ihres Headquarters in Santa Clara seit 2017 mit einem neuen Screen-System, bestehend aus einer Brand Story Wall am Eingang der Lobby und einem Digital Skylight, das den angrenzenden Loungebereich wie eine Kuppel überfängt. Mit „Kelp Forest“ konzipierten wir für die beiden Komponenten, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Intel Artdirection, eine idealtypische Unterwasserwelt südkalifornischer Buchten. Die generative Lichtstimmung passt sich dem natürlichen Tagesverlauf an. Ozeanische Soundwogen intensivieren die sinnliche Anmutung der Meereslandschaft.

Das Highlight bildet die interaktive LED-Wall mit sechs integrierten Intel® RealSense™ Kameras. Sie generieren Tiefendaten zur gezielten Steuerung der Fische. Bei Bewegungen im Raum wird der Autopilot durch einen Interaktions-Algorithmus abgelöst. Verweilen die Besucher vor dem Screen, schwärmen die Sardinen nur so herbei, während hektische Gesten die Schar im Nu wieder vertreiben. Das Zusammenspiel von realer und digitaler Welt wird unter der Skylight-Kuppel durch den Eindruck von tiefer Verbundenheit mit der audiovisuellen Szenerie ergänzt.

Die Umbaumaßnahmen zur Installation des neuen Screen-Systems vor Ort überdauerten den gesamten Entstehungszeitraum des Projektes. Um unserem Kunden dennoch eine detaillierte Vorschau auf den jeweils aktuellen Stand zu ermöglichen, entwickelten wir eine VR-Simulation unserer Entwürfe in der geplanten Raumarchitektur. Als erstes interaktives Thema bildet der „Kelp Forest“ bis heute einen festen Bestandteil im täglichen Bespielungsprogramm der neuen Intel-Lobby.

Kelp Forest 360° on YouTube: Brand Story Wall Viewpoint
Kelp Forest 360° on YouTube: Digital Skylight Viewpoint